This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.


Directgov| Gov news|



You are here: home > prime minister > PM's office

Prime Minister's Office

10 Downing Street Downing Street and Number 10 are commonly used terms for the Prime Minister's Office.

The office is staffed by civil servants and special advisers who support the Prime Minister and ensure he can carry out his wide range of functions, from international diplomacy to policy-making.

Most staff are based inside the offices of 10 Downing Street.

Who's who in the Prime Minister's Office

Jonathan Powell is the Prime Minister's Chief of Staff. He has direct responsibility for leading and co-ordinating operations across Number 10. He reports to the Prime Minister.

Liz Lloyd is Deputy Chief of Staff

Ivan Rogers is the Prime Minister's Principal Private Secretary.

David Hill is the Prime Minister's Director of Communications.

Jo Gibbons is Director of Events, Visits and Scheduling

John McTernan is the Director of Political Operations. He provides political management and support for the development of the Government's political strategy. The Labour Party pays his salary.

David Bennett is Head of Policy Directorate

Matthew Taylor is Chief Adviser on Strategy

Ruth Turner is Director of Government Relations10 Downing Street 10 Downing Street

Other sections you may find useful